Our Team

Susan Smith


Susan Smith

Susan co-founded Bluesky Strategy Group with Tim Barber in 2003 and is recognized as one of The Hill Times’ Top 100 lobbyists. With more than 30 years of experience, she provides private and public sector clients with strategic communications, public affairs and crisis and media relations advice and training. Susan is trusted for her advice to C-Suite leaders, Cabinet Ministers, politicians and leaders of organizations and officials on how to craft and present their messages to achieve their communications and policy goals creatively and effectively. Her client files span the food and agri-food, Indigenous economic development and reconciliation, natural resources and energy/alternative energy sectors, health care, sport, manufacturing, fin-tech, post-secondary, telecom and culture. She provided global media relations advice and support to the Assembly of First Nations delegates for the 2022 Vatican visit and papal visit to Canada. 

Susan is also one of the co-founders of Canada 2020, a progressive policy think tank, based in Ottawa. Since 2006, Canada 2020 has grown into the “go-to” policy forum for influential discussion, debate, ideas, great thinkers, and VIP speakers for the federal public policy community and beyond.

Susan’s networks in government and the national media help clients deliver their messages to the most important audiences, through the most effective channels. As a veteran consultant and one of the leading women in the field, she is a trusted voice, leadership mentor and a sought-after political pundit, public relations commentator, panel moderator and public speaker, appearing regularly on CBC News Network, CTV National News Network, CPAC, as well as radio and print throughout the country.

Fluently bilingual, Susan is a graduate of Queen’s University and holds an ICD.D designation from the Institute of Corporate Directors at the Rotman School. She is an elected member of the Queen’s University Council and an independent director of the PayPal Giving Fund Canada.